Quixotic

Day 10 – Pick a one line song lyric to serve as an epigraph to your poem. Then, write the poem to accompany it. 

 

‘I’m going back to the earth…’*

I’ve realised that by sitting still,
I can travel to outer space,
because my mind can take me places
though my body can’t escape.

But while daydreaming makes me happy,
there’s one thing I can’t deny:
when my eyes start glazing over,
I begin to live a lie.

The universe inside my head
may be absolutely perfect,
but idealism won’t change a thing
about this slowly dying planet.

*(from ‘Back to The Earth,’ by Jason Mraz)

 Click here to listen to the song 🙂

Leave a Reply

