Letter to a failed marriage

Day 30- Write a poem employing extended metaphor to illustrate the experience of the last thirty days.

 

Dear Poetry Challenge,

 

You’re a marriage that I got into without thinking,

teaching me false ideals about love and life.

A relation-ship that’s finally sinking

and boy, am I glad to be rid of the strife!

Because I didn’t know how much time and energy

this would take from me every single day!

Your constant attention-seeking has put my studies in jeopardy,

and I’m really quite glad you’re going away.

So goodbye – I’m getting a divorce now,

commitment was never my thing

(I should not have taken those vows)

but here, I no longer need this ring.

 

Leave a Reply

